Matrix Transformation confuses me

photo

Sorry because this is too confusing to me. Maybe I am not good at both English and Math stuff. Maybe this document needs more work to get a better explaination for people like me.

First one,

image.png.061c2c2c9f77385701d571e63292a349.png

• The text said that: "First three columns show directions of axes AND the scale of the origin",
  • But the figure said "rotation AND scale", I don't know how rotation and direction are the same terms. It is a confict between text and image figure. I know they are related somehow, but why don't use the same term ?
  • If this 4 x 4 matrix can contain all information of a node's transformation, then in green marked area, which element is for scale, which one is for rotation (*)? why don't point them out ?

Next one,

image.png.e5d14cc0213d5cf7160e24dc09c17128.png

• With this figure, I expect that: Those elements on the diagonal is for scaling, can this be the answer for my above question, marked with (*) ?
  • If I use .getColumn3(1), does it mean this column will be selected (marked red below) ?

image.png.95b1fc0204edf058186be8554b026111.png

• If it is not true, I expect: To select the first column, I must use .getColumn3(0) with 0 is the first column, then why don't you add a note like:
    • 0 is the first column (x axis)
    • 1 is the second Column (y axis)
    • and 2 is the last colum (z axis)

image.png.8b9f361906d27fef4936eb113e2d94a6.png

image.png

Another one,

• Back to node's transform matrix, if diagonal elements is about scaling, how .getColumn3(int column) use one of scale element to get node direction (v1.x) ?

image.png.e8b0a8129287d506224dae94422fcbed.png

Edited by tipforeveryone

Hi tipforevewyone,

Let's start with the rotation-direction stuff...