landscape lmap file disappears

photo
Go to solution Solved by ipakseev,

Hi, I'm new to the unigine (liking it so far!) but I have run into one problem that I can't seem to figure out. When I import certain large heightmaps, the lmap asset gets deleted upon completion of the import process, for some unknown reason. It just disappears from the asset browser. Am I running into some sort of file size or system resource limitation? It's a 352mb geotiff heightmap (15457x11947 pixels, epsg:3857 at 30 meter resolution, int16 data type).

The relevant log file snippet is below:

13:02:02 C:/Projects/UNIGINE Projects/test_project/data/Terrain/georgia.lmap (5.7GB): import started...
13:40:31 C:/Projects/UNIGINE Projects/test_project/data/Terrain/georgia.lmap: import finished in 38.488442 minutes
13:40:49 ERROR:	LandscapeMapFile::fileOpenRead() can't open "guid://137d01f5d6e0a4b42def0e07c5b723d343b12323" file

PC specs:
Core i5-11500
16gb RAM
1TB nvme SSD
RTX 3060

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Edited by MindV0odoo

I tried importing the heightmap again and ran into the same issue. But this time I recorded my screen as it happened. Keep in mind all I did was left-click my mouse on the asset, but this seems to happen if I interact with the editor in any way.

https://streamable.com/8cdqx7

This screen grab is the juicy bit. Why is it removing the lmap file?
image.png.dca138a2d16306bd022aaaa4807250f7.png

• Solution

Hello, MindV0odoo!

Unfortunately, the video at the link is not available to watch at this time.

I suppose that your problem may be related to limited disk space on your PC. The default Terrain Compression Cache saves to C:/Users/<User_Name>/AppData/Local/Unigine/Editor/cache. If you don't have enough free space, your lmap will be deleted after reimport/import. It's known issue. 

Could you try changing this path to a path with more free space please? This param located in Settings → Editor → Terrain Compression Cache.