Weather effects on community edition (Linux)

photo

Hi, I'm trying to get weather effects on community edition (Linux).

Weather effects, including wind affecting objects, rain, fog, lightning, and snow

... the goal is to achieve something like it's being presented in Valley benchmark application. Btw, is this application project sources available somewhere?

I'm just new to the engine, and have seen the samples and played around with them, but could not find how to achieve such effects. What I am missing here? It's just available programatically, or there are nodes to use directly on the editor? Can't find it tough...

Please advise...

Thanks!

Hi @carlos.vieira,

Creating these atmospheric effects is ultimately an artistic task and available via UnigineEditor unless you need some interaction or complex, smooth transition. The Valley sources are not available, but the SDK provides a couple of samples. Let me break down the typical ways to create such effects:

1. Raindrops and snowfall effects are similar and usually simulated using Particle Systems. Check out the particles_rain_effect world of the Art Samples demo (the art_samples > particles > particles_rain_effect world) showcasing a rain effect, you can open it in the Editor and see how it is made. For optimization purposes, this sample controls attachment of the particle systems to the camera via scripting to spawn raindrops only in some local area around the player.
    Spoiler

rain.gifsnowfall.gif

2. Lightning can be simulated in many ways; the most common approach is an emissive billboard or a mesh depending on the required level of quality. To emulate randomly occuring lightning strikes, you can configure a random Period for billboard-based particles and use a Texture Atlas containing different lightning images.
    A more complex solution, including shaders and programming, may be required to simulate how highly-detailed lightning affects the scene lighting.
    Spoiler

lightning.gif