Head tracking

photo

Hi,

I'm very new to Unigine. I have a project for which I need to implement head tracking.

I want to check if this can be done with Unigine?

So suppose I have some head tracking system. How can I make this system communicate with Unigine?

What are the preferred methods to make other applications talk to Unigine?

And how can I specify the needed asymitrical frustums for each eye?

I appriciate if someone could point me into the right direction.

How can I make this system communicate with Unigine?

What are the preferred methods to make other applications talk to Unigine?

In general external harware can be integrated via custom c++ driver plugin for hardware access and using this functionality from within UNIGINE script

1. write a c++ plugin for hardware setup/shutdown in <pluginname>.init()/.shutdown() and headtracker value polling in <pluginname>.update()
  2. expose c++ value query function to UNIGINE script e.g. <pluginname>.getHeadtrackerOrientation()
  3. query current head tracker orientation via <pluginname>.getHeadtrackerOrientation() from within world script update() function each frame
  4. update camera orientation accordingly each frame

There is a useful plugin sample in source\samples\Api\Plugin demonstrating c++ part and UNIGINE script access

And how can I specify the needed asymitrical frustums for each eye?

Not sure about you hardware configuration. Do you want to use some kind of helmet mounted 2-channel display head-tracker or just a head-tracker with 1-channel stereo-rendering ?

Regardless of harware configuration, be advised that there are still UNIGINE issues with asymmetric view frustums. If you just meant 2 view frustums with parallax-offset for stereo-rendering but still with symmetric horizontal/vertical field of view this should be no problem.

In general external harware can be integrated via custom c++ driver plugin for hardware access and using this functionality from within UNIGINE script