[SOLVED] General Materials, Shader Question

photo

Hello and a good day,

atm we are using an 'Engine' with which it is easily possible to write HLSL shaders and directly connect it to meshes, set dynamically parameters etc.

(I am not a programmer, so sorry If I do not use the correct technical terms).

That is basically the way, to realize every (I'm)possible material, effect, scene, postprocess etc.

In fact we have no real strict render pipeline and for me it feels very open, but at the same time very complex controlling e.g. scenes 24/7/365.

But this is what we are doing.

So we have our own system for skydome, surface shaders, post effects etc. Nearly all written in HLSL.

The main advantage of this method is, that we have control over each and every single scene element on the fly.

Lets say, I can easily apply a very simple shader to a 'static' mesh, have a skinned shader for chars. And parallax shader for terrain, selective soft render shadow, etc.etc. at the same time, but can control each element separately, introduce variables, write expressions, add gui interfaces etc.

I would be very happy to have a more defined set for outdoor scenes (what Unigine has) and a quasi fixed material system, with which all the necessary parameters interact and play well together. 

This I experienced so far, using the eval version, which is nice.

As we are used to work on a shader level, we are wondering, if/how and how easy it would be, to implement our own ideas into the pipeline.

A very good example would be our latest project.

There we have a shader, which we are using to 'simulate' a flowing paper pulp stream in a machine.

It is not very fancy in technical terms, but it is a very handy way to visualize our ideas, and it works very very well.

(Its a displacement shader with animated uvs and maps, dynamic normal creation, shadows, specular, lightmaps, reflections etc.)