3D GIS

photo

My company plan to investigate a 3D GIS system with unigine.But I studied it in little time.

So i want to know that can the unigine do it ? if can ,what must i study and pay attention to?

what i be making ready for? if not. please give a reason.

Thanks!

one big advantage of UNIGINE compared to other game engines is double precision support which is mandatory for GIS applications supporting global scale data presentation. Nevertheless it's a game engine and GIS is a totally different field of application (especially in 3D). To be honest for hardcore GIS I would take some Java based approach based on existing GIS frameworks/libraries e.g. WorldWind.

Nevertheless UNIGINE can be used nicely for simple real-time 3D geographic data visualizations as shown in the following example

post-82-0-09699800-1337798989_thumb.jpg

Yuwen, it's not quite clear what input data you have and in what format.

Ulf, thank you for sharing your opinion (very constructive since we hadn't created a GIS applications in the house) and even a screenshot :)

We have done some work getting kml files into Unigine, with some sucess. Ill see if Danni can post more info on the tools we used.

Also we use Georeferenced satellite photography as the diffuse on terrains.

We have done some work getting kml files into Unigine, with some sucess. Ill see if Danni can post more info on the tools we used.

Also we use Georeferenced satellite photography as the diffuse on terrains.

I must to achieve a 3D GIS demo with the Unigine. but i have nothing now. can you give me some advices?

Data source -->Process-->View. what are the three parts prepare for?

I think that i need to consult some sample code. where can i find it in?

Thanks!

you have a few options...

1) you can try building a C++ plugin for unigine that integrates an existing gis library.

2) use the system uniginescript call to interact with external executables.