Coherent UI plugin (HTML5 renderer)

photo

Hi there,

I recently started playing around with Unigine and made a plugin for Coherent UI, a product by the company I work for. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s basically a high-performance HTML5-compliant renderer based on WebKit.

The texture that Coherent UI gives the client can be mapped on anything (e.g. a camera or a 3D model). When mapping on a 3D object the texture has to be copied in the RAM (Unigine::Image), though, I couldn’t find a way to access the material’s texture directly (I don't have the full source). There’s also a huge slowdown caused by Unigine::Image::createMipmaps which I’ll try to avoid in a future version of the plugin. [Edit: This is no longer present in the latest version]

The plugin itself is still in very early stage so there are probably a lot of parts that can be done better. At the moment JavaScript interaction and input forwarding are not yet implemented. The plugin allows scripting using Unigine Script through the CoherentUIView object.

I’m attaching the plugin and sample code for anyone interested. Here’s some screenshots at the bottom (some UI made with Adobe Edge / CSS3 animation / mapping youtube on a rock). I also made this youtube video to demonstrate the animation done with Edge, it's easier to show than with a still image - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YSTNm0Do36E

If you have any feedback I’ll be glad to hear it :)

Edit (19.10.14): Updated the plugin for Coherent UI 2.x and Unigine 2014-10-06

Edit (18.03.15): Updated the plugin for Coherent UI 2.x and Unigine 2015-02-17 (Unigine 2). Many performance optimizations, especially for D3D11. 3D and HUD views now have the same performance and mipmapping is no longer an issue. The HUD is now drawn using a WidgetSprite so you can manipulate it easily.

Edit (03.06.15): Added "CoherentGT_Alpha1.zip" which is the first version of the Coherent GT for Unigine 2