Programming
Fundamentals
Setting Up Development Environment
Usage Examples
UnigineScript
High-Level Systems
C++
C#
UUSL (Unified UNIGINE Shader Language)
File Formats
Rebuilding the Engine and Tools
GUI
Double Precision Coordinates
API
Containers
Common Functionality
Controls-Related Classes
Engine-Related Classes
Filesystem Functionality
GUI-Related Classes
Math Functionality
Node-Related Classes
Networking Functionality
Pathfinding-Related Classes
Physics-Related Classes
Plugins-Related Classes
Rendering-Related Classes

Managing Worlds

UnigineEditor provides an ability to create new worlds, load or reload existing ones and save them if any changes are made.

Creating a New World

To create a new world via UnigineEditor:

  1. Click File -> Create New World on the Menu bar, or press CTRL + N.

  2. Choose the target directory and specify a name for the new world. We recommend you to create the world in your project folder /data/my_project.

After that, two new files will be created in the target folder:

  • newworld.world - an XML file containing rendering settings of the created world.
  • newworld.cpp - a world script file.

Notice
A new world with default sun node is created. You can keep this node or delete it at your own discretion.

Loading an Existing World

To load an existing world via UnigineEditor:

  1. Click File -> Open World on the Menu bar, or press CTRL + O.

  2. Choose the directory and select the required world.
    Notice
    Via UnigineEditor, you can load the world that is stored under the data directory only.

  3. Click Ok. The selected world will be loaded.

To load one of the recently closed worlds, click File -> Recent Worlds on the Menu bar, choose the required world and click it.

Notice
4 recently closed worlds are available.

Saving a World

To save the current world under a different name via UnigineEditor:

  1. Click File -> Save World As.. on the Menu bar.

  2. Choose a directory and specify a new name for the world:

  3. Click Ok.

To save a world under its current name:

  1. Click File -> Save World on the Menu bar, or press CTRL + S.

  2. Click Yes in the dialog box that opens.

Reloading a World

To reload the current world:

  1. Click File -> Reload World on the Menu bar.

    If there are unsaved changes in the world, the dialog box will open.
  2. Click Yes in the dialog box to save all changes before reloading.

Closing a World

To close the current world:

  1. Click File -> Close World on the Menu bar.

    If there are unsaved changes in the world, the dialog box will open.
  2. Click Yes in the dialog box to save all changes before closing.

    The world will be closed as a result.
Last update: 2017-07-03